RESOLUTION NUMBER 2726

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PERRIS, COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE, STATE OF CALIFORNIA, CALLING FOR SUPPORT OF THE SANTA ANA WATERSHED PROJECT AUTHORITY PLAN

WHEREAS, a safe, clean and reliable water supply is critical to California's economic and environmental future; and

WHEREAS, California's dependence on imported water supplies threatens both the economy and the environment, especially during times of drought; California should pursue new and innovative methods to become more water self sufficient by increasing water storage and utilizing that water during times of drought; and

WHEREAS, the Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority ("SAWPA") has developed programs for underground water storage and environmental restoration in the southern California region that is home to nearly twenty-five (25%) percent of the State's population. These programs will increase the water supply so the region will be completely self sufficient during droughts, improve the quality and safety of the water supply, restore habitat for native species, provide flood control, and create new wetlands and open space in the region.

WHEREAS, the California Legislature and the Governor should assure safe, clean and reliable water is a priority for California by placing a water bond measure on the March 2000 ballot that provides significant funding for the SAWPA programs.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the City Council of the City of Perris supports the SAWPA Program and calls upon the Legislature and the Governor to place a water bond on the Year 2000 ballot and provide funding for the SAWPA plan.

ADOPTED, SIGNED AND APPROVED THIS 29TH day of June, 1999.

Attest:	MAYOR OF THE CITY OF PERRIS
City Clerk	

STATE OF CALIFORNIA) COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE) § CITY OF PERRIS)

I, Margaret Rey, duly elected City Clerk of the City of Perris, California, hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution Number 2726 was duly and regularly adopted by the City Council of the City of Perris at a regular meeting held the 29th day of June, 1999, by the following called vote:

Ayes: 4 Larios, Yarbrough, Torres, Landers

Noes: 0

Absent: 1 Larragoitiy

CITY CLERK